About Us


The roles are described in aeon’s governance document. A list of all contributors can be found here.

Code of Conduct Workgroup

The code of conduct workgroup maintains the code of conduct and handles any issues related that arise.

Communications Workgroup

The communications workgroup manages the project’s communication channels.

Finance Workgroup

The finance workgroup is responsible for managing the project’s finances.

Infrastructure Workgroup

The infrastructure workgroup is responsible for managing the project’s infrastructure and CI.

Release Management Workgroup

The release management workgroup is responsible for managing the project’s releases.

Core Developers

The core developers push forward aeon’s development and maintain the package.


aeon was started in January 2023 as a fork of the sktime project by 8 core developers using v0.16.0 as a base. In following year, the project grew to include an additional 4 core developers and was accepted as a NumFOCUS affiliated project in December 2023.


High quality PNG, JPG and EPS logos are available are located in the docs/images/logo/ directory on GitHub.

The logo was designed by Reni Rahayu via crowdspring.


aeon is a community-driven project. However, institutional and private grants help to ensure its sustainability.

The project developers would like to thank the following funders.

The UKRI Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) funds Matthew Middlehurst (@matthewmiddlehurst) and Tony Bagnall (@TonyBagnall) since 2022



We would also like to thank GitHub Actions and ReadtheDocs for the free compute time on their servers and documentation hosting.


aeon is an affiliated project of NumFOCUS.


Pre-fork Acknowledgements

sktime v0.16.0 core developers

The following listed contributors were part of the sktime core developer team at some point prior to the split of the project.

sktime v0.16.0 funders

As a fork of the sktime project, aeon has benefited from funding given to sktime prior to the projects split. We would like to thank the funders from before the split.

The Alan Turing Institute funded three months of the initial development under the UKRI Strategic Priorities Fund.


Markus Löning’s (@mloning) contributions between 2019 and 2021 were supported by the UKRI Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), the Consumer Data Research Centre (CDRC), the Enrichment Scheme at the The Alan Turing Institute, and the JROST Rapid Response Fund, a community effort of Invest in Open Infrastructure.

https://esrc.ukri.org https://www.cdrc.ac.uk https://turing.ac.uk/

Mercedes-Benz AG/Daimler AG donated 2500 EUR to support the maintenance and development of sktime in 2021, as part of their FOSS program.



The 2019 joint sktime/MLJ development sprint was kindly hosted by UCL and The Alan Turing Institute. Some participants could attend thanks to the initial funding of the The Alan Turing Institute.


Google Summer of Code (GSoC), Major League Hacking and Outreachy have all sponsored sktime internships.

The Wellcome Trust sponsored one sktime internship as part of Outreachy.


GitHub ID



Katie Buchhorn


Google Summer of Code


Mirae Parker


Google Summer of Code


Shivansh Subramanian


Google Summer of Code


Guzal Bulatova




Svea Marie Meyer


Google Summer of Code via INCF